My new Android phone

I just bought a Samsung Galaxy Ace, the cheaper and weaker version of the S2. This is my first experience with Android, so I thought I should share some of my findings.

The user interface is basically what we’ve come to expect from a phone, similar to Plasma with widgets and to Symbian with menus. I quickly noticed that typing on a touchscreen is hard and slow, but then I found the great Swype keyboard which makes it so much easier. It’s amazing how much faster it is that typing on a phone keyboard.

A somewhat worse experience was the market. I heard critiques of Linux package repositories because of the large number of programs and too much duplication; all this applies tenfold to the Android market. I had to try at least ten notes widgets and apps before deciding on the one to use. And with many of possible apps costing money, it’s hard and expensive to try them all.

I already used many Google features (the money for the phone came from them via GSoC), so the account integration was welcome for me. Calendars and notes syncing with the desktop is really useful. My previous phone didn’t have wi-fi, and I only now noticed what a godsend it is, with wireless everywhere and carrier internet slow and expensive.

The only downside of owning a smartphone seems to be the battery life. Now, when I’m still installing apps and configuring it, it barely lasts two days. I suppose I’ll have to get used to nightly charging.

6 responses to this post.

  1. […] Orange « My new Android phone […]

    Reply

  2. “it barely lasts two days” ……..and you think thats bad??? welcome to your new smartphone 😛

    p.s did you root it yet?? 😛

    Reply

  3. Posted by Anne Wilson on 27. September 2011 at 11:13

    If you haven’t already done so, install Juice Defender. It will make quite a difference. The other thing that surprised me was the difference made by choice of wallpaper. Light backgrounds use a *lot* more power than dark ones. Choosing a dark one has almost doubled my battery time.

    Reply

    • Posted by noughmad on 27. September 2011 at 11:59

      I just installed it, I’ll see how it goes now. The background is Voyager from Star Trek, so it’s very dark already.

      Reply

  4. I’m really hoping we can get something swype-like in Plasma Active… It speeds up my text entry by about 400%…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

