Season’s End

During this summer, I participated in the Season of KDE, working on a Octave backend for Cantor with my mentor and Cantor author Alexander Rieder. I’m proud to say I have achieved my goal. In addition to running Octave commands directly from Cantor’s worksheet, all convenience features supported by both Cantor and Octave support are available:

  • Syntax highlighting for functions, variables, operators and strings
  • Tab-completion
  • Easy access to function documentation / syntax help
  • Easy 2D and 3D plotting of functions, with plots integrated in the worksheet
  • Linear algebra extension for defining matrices and computing their inverse, eigenvectors and eigenvalues
  • Integrated script editor and runner
  • Possibility to interrupt or restart Octave at any time

I haven’t been really regular with blogging, so I would like to apologize and give you something better in return: a screencast. Please excuse my bad english and strange voice, I’m really not a good speaker in any language.

Also, it was only after I finished that I remembered it would be better to make a presentation with untranslated Cantor. I hope I explained everything I did well enough.

Hi-quality version

Low-quality version

I would really like to thank the KDE team (especially Lydia) for organizing this, and my mentor Alexander for help and guidance (and finding me more things to do πŸ™‚ ). I will certainly continue working on (and with) KDE.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Congratulations Miha πŸ™‚ That’s great to hear and it looks pretty cool I have to say!
    I’ll email you and the other Season of KDE students soon for t-shirt size and address and all.

    Reply

  2. Posted by arieder on 29. August 2010 at 19:55

    Nice Job! Keep rocking!

    Reply

Leave a comment